Hola Barcelona

          When I watched Zindagi milegi na doobara(bollywood movie), I said impressive need to visit Spain… Tomatina!!! ,Senorita(flamenco dance) ,Bull fight, Messi and Wine comes to my mind when I think of Spain. I made up my mind ….. Barcelona here I come……

Barceloneta Beach

Barceloneta Beach

Barcelona: What’s so special?

Well just everything….from food to wine to architecture to night life to beaches to

Yeah that's true

Yeah that’s true

people…..uff I simply loved Barcelona….

How I did It:So from my previous post you know I was at onsite location: Helsinki and I love traveling so I wanted to plan something special for my B’day: 17th April. Okie so I heard of this amazing deal for Barcelona return Air tickets @ 187 Euro.. Wow.. I rushed to Stockmann(helsinki’s supermarket) @7AM in the morning for the great deal. Inital plan was to go with my friend Utsav and his friends from TCS. So both of us were waiting for our turn, the dates we selected were 1st may to 3rd may as 1st was holiday. But the seats were full so they backed out , but I really wanted to go to Barcelona so I tried all the permutation and combination and booked the flight tickets for 24th April 2015 as (17th was already booked 😦 )

Solo Again ? :  I have been solo in India so its pretty much okay for me, in fact I enjoy been solo.The good thing about flying solo is its never boring and you have the freedom to explore new places your way. But it was not completely a solo trip as luckily Olli my Finland colleague and best friend apparently was also traveling during the same time to Barcelona with his wife, his daughter studies there.

Places to visit

Gaudi is Barcelona’s most famous architect and is considered the father of the modernist architecture movement.You can find his work spread throughout the city

La Sagrada Familia
Park Güell
Casa Mila
Casa Batllo

Day 1:

Yeah I am football fan ... I love messi

Yeah I am football fan … I love Messi

Day 2:

la sagrada familia : It is a large Roman Catholic church in Barcelona, designed by Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi. Although incomplete, the church is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

La Sagrada Familia

La Sagrada Familia

Montjuïc Hill – When you arrive on the hill from the cable car, you’ll be able to enjoy a good view of the city and visit the Castell de Montjuïc (a large 18th-century fortress), as well as gardens, a Spanish village, and some Olympic stadiums. There’s a lot to do here, so you’ll have plenty of choices.

Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya: National Art Museum of Catalonia abbreviated as MNAC, is the national museum of Catalan visual art located in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain situated on Montjuïc hill.

Olli,Me and his daughter

Olli,Me and his daughter

 

Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya

Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya

Flamenco performance

Flamenco performance

Magic Fountain of Montjuïc

Musical Fountain

Musical Fountain

Day 3:

Barri Gotic:This is Barcelona’s historic center and dates back to pre-Roman times. The area is a maze of tiny streets that turn around on each other and open into lovely squares and plazas.

Picasso Museum

Parc de la Ciutadella:On the complete other end of the Barri Gotic  is the Parc de la Ciutadella.It’s a beautiful walk through the historic streets, so you’ll enjoy it.

The Gothic Cathedral

11700600_1161991317148198_3504340083543891353_o

The Gothic Cathedral

No trip to Barcelona is complete without a visit to its famous beaches

Food and Drink:

Yummy Tapas

Yummy Tapas

1965432_1162033707143959_3706336245173563496_o11698913_1161991673814829_1528299305564639047_o

Stay

To be Continued…

About sonalpawar17

Hey all... I am an Engineer by profession, passionate about traveling ,dancing and music... adventurous and fun loving girl....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment